Home

I am very fortunate to have read this interview. I follow so many blogs that sometimes I feel that there are also good ones that I miss.

This interview allows us a peek into the attitude and philosophy of a true master and karateka. Ossu.

Moai Martial Arts

My interview with Michael Bacon is a perfect example of what The Old Ways of New Masters series is all about.  A godan (5th degree black belt) in Shohei-Ryu Karate, Michael has been training steadily since childhood.  After joining Ed DeCosta’s school more than ten years ago, he proved himself an exceptional scholar of the art and an invaluable training partner.  Here is our conversation about his experience in growing up with the martial arts. Enjoy!

What made you want to start training? What was your inspiration?

I was 6 and was so uncoordinated I couldn’t run in a straight line; even then, I fell down.

What do you think of the unique experience of growing up as a martial artist. How was your life different than your peers?

I always had something bigger than just me and my friends that I was involved with, not to mention that I…

View original post 652 more words

Leave a Reply

